Google+ Google+

On This Day in History: The Pulitzer Prize was Created

man reading business section of newspaper

Let’s learn more about the Pulitzer Prize.

The Pulitzer Prize is an award that recognizes achievements in the fields of journalism, literature, and musical composition.  This award was first established in 1917 when newspaper publisher, Joseph Pulitzer left provisions in his will to reward outstanding persons in the aforementioned fields.  Today, prizes are awarded annually in 21 different categories, with winners receiving a $15,000 cash reward.

Some of the notable authors, journalists, playwrights, and musicians who have won a Pulitzer Prize include the following:

  • Arthur Miller: screenwriter and playwright (1915-2005)
  • Harper Lee: author (1926-2016)
  • Alex Haley: author and journalist (1921-1992)
  • Alice Walker: author, women’s right and civil rights activist (1944- )
  • August Wilson: playwright (1945-2005)
  • Toni Morrison: writer, editor, literary critic, playwright (1931- )
  • Charles Lindbergh: writer, inventor, pilot (1902-1974)
  • Sylvia Plath: editor, author, poet (1932-1963)
  • Pearl S. Buck: women’s and civil rights activist, author (1892-1973)
  • Robert Frost: poet, educator (1874-1963)
  • John Steinbeck: author (1902-1968)
  • Richard Rodgers: composer (1902-1979)
  • Stephen Sondheim: songwriter, writer (1930- )
  • Carl Bernstein: writer, journalist (1944- )
  • George S. Kaufman: critic, journalist, director, playwright (1889-1961)

We at The Maria Sanchez Show hope you will join us as we celebrate all of the amazing men and women who have been recognized with a Pulitzer Prize.  Don’t forget to check out our latest program, Shadow Politics with Senator Michael D. Brown.  Tune in on Sundays at 4:00 p.m. PDT/7:00 p.m. EDT.

© Copyright 2020 The Maria Sanchez Show | Powered by Stratosphere Marketing Solutions